Scoring Extra points for additional diploma

ignite-me

Hello,

As I am looking to migrate to Australia with Skilled Independent visa under "Software developer" occupation, I am currently looking at ways to improve my points score. At the minute, I stand at 65-points which is not enough at the moment for this occupation (70 is set to minimum).

Here is the breakdown of my points:

• I'm 26 years old - 30 points
  • I have a Bachelor's degree from a UK recognised university - 15 points
  • Superior English skills - 20 points
  • I have 2 years of work experience - 0 points for the visa, but used to assess my skills

In order to score points, I am thinking of doing a diploma course for two year in Regional Australia (Adelaide). This would potentially get me an extra 10 points for my EOI. My main question is, if I am migrating under the "Software developer" occupation, can I claim these extra points if my diploma is in a different field of study (e.g. business, management or tourism)?

I understand that I would not be able to claim this under "Qualifications", but to get extra 5 points for "Australian study requirement" and 5 more for "Study in regional Australia"?

You would be better asking a registered agent. @Raul Senise

IMO it seems a little extreme unless you are already in Oz on another visa. Applying for say a student visa, waiting two years and then software developer could be off the list. Who knows. 

Another year of uk experience and there is potentially 5 points. Taking you to 70. 

6 minutes ago, Jsmull87 said:

Another year of uk experience and there is potentially 5 points. Taking you to 70. 

Unfortunately ACS (assessing body for IT) has states that "skilled employment" starts only after 2 years of working (which is the period that is used to assess skills only). So if I go down that path, I'd be looking at another 3 years of working in the UK before I can claim those extra 5 points from outside of Australia work experience.