Queensland - jobs/ young family

Fosh

Hi everyone, my hubby, me and my 2 little boys 3 years and 9 months are looking at options to move to queensland. 

Our original choice was Melbourne as my hubby has family there (parents and a sister) but his parents are very old and won't be able to help us as a young family, which led us to look at alternative areas if we are going alone regardless of where we live. Also the Melbourne weather put us off a little as we would like a more sunny climate and laid back lifestyle which we worry melbourne isn't? (No hubby has been in the UK for 10 years and I am from the UK so we are slightly clueless).

We love Buderim, but it's so far out from Brisbane which is probably where our jobs would be. I'm a project manager and my husband is a business analyst. We looked online at jobs in the Goldcoast for PMs but only 1 came up. 

Is there any lovely areas with a good/ easy commute to Brisbane that are affordable homes/ spacious/good schools and good commute (under 1 hour)? 

Are you a young family that can tell us the pros and cons to Brisbane? I'm worried about childcare costs for 2 young children. 

Is the flooding bad, as I have concerns re flooding? 

Has anyone got 4 day a week working? I currently have this in the UK and would love this in Queensland.

Thank you in advance!!

Hi 

For people to give you some guidance you will need to provide a little more info. 

For example, budget (you can get a nice house for $450,000 in one area or $1m + in another); school - state, private, religious; Queenslander v New build; new estate v established; quaint shops v large shopping malls and cosmopolitan area; train v bus v car to city; Northside v Southside.