Accountant requires advice / help

Guest basiltherat

Guest basiltherat

Is there anybody out there who has progressed through the TRA for accountant. I am a Chartered accountant (CIPFA) and concerned about the recognition of this qualification.

Hi Basil

I'm a CIMA qualified accountant and am currently waiting for my skills assessment to come back.

I posted them at end of June and am still waiting, I've been advised I should hear before the end of September.

You should send your assessment to CPA or NIA not TRA. From what I've read on this forum, TRA is the body you contact to assess manual skills (eg electricians, plasterers). As an accountant you need to get your skills assessed by one of the Australian Accountancy Bodies.

Hope this helps.

Karen

Guest basiltherat

Hi Karen

Thanks for your reply....

Are you using an agent?

Do you have to take any additional exams before practising in Australia or does the CIMA syllabus cover the requirements?

Regards

Heather (basil!!)

Hi Heather

I'm not using a migration agent as it is just me applying so it should be relatively simple.

I have a friend who has just migrated out there with his family, so he's been a great source of information to ask questions I'm not sure about.

The "problem" I had with the skills assessment paperwork was that the college where I did my degree has recently changed name so all my certificates have a different name to the uni now. Also the uni no longer offers the course I did, so therefore difficult to get syllabus details from them.

In the end I contacted CPA by email and they actually confirmed that I didn't need to send any syllabus information to them which is very confusing as their website clearly states you do. When I submitted my paperwork to them, I attached a copy of this email with it.

I think I might have to do a couple of conversion papers, but otherwise should be ok. I'll let you know when I hear from them (should be any day now)!

Karen

• 1 month later...