CAn you help a confused Midwfie?? Should I apply to APHRA as first step?

Katy Russell

Hello and thanks for having me!

I am hoping to move with my family to Oz. I am a Midwife with 14 years experience in a very well renowned hospital in Scotland. Ideally I would come in on visa 189 (skilled PR)

I've been trying to work my way through the paperwork with help from these forums, but I have a few questions and wondered if any of you lovely people can help me.

It seems it may make sense to apply to APHRA first as I am a diploma trained midwife (there were no degrees when I trained!), as I fear I may not meet the criteria and have to do a bridging course or something....? Does that seem right?

Is it possible to apply to AHPRA without having a visa, or even a EOI in place?

If it is not possible to apply first to APHRA, is it likely I will meet the criteria for skills select with ANMAC, and be granted a visa? (My english language test is this weekend).

Or perhaps, do you think I would be better off trying to come in on a sponsorship 478 and apply for a PR once we are there?

I appreciate your time and TIA

Katy

xxx

Hi Katy,

You need a Degree in order to comply with AHPRA's requirements to register so you will need to do some sort of top up. There is also new requlations with them that you have to meet further requirements of completing 10 caseloading continuity of care experiences which is not included in UK training. Therefore UK trained Midwive's are having to come over on supervised practice.

At the minute you won't meet AHPRA's requirements to register as a Midwife so your best bet is to top up to Degree first.

Hope this helps x

Hello and thanks for having me!

I am hoping to move with my family to Oz. I am a Midwife with 14 years experience in a very well renowned hospital in Scotland. Ideally I would come in on visa 189 (skilled PR)