457 Falling Through - Carpenter HELP

SW1

I am currently on my 457 sponsorship, working regionally in QLD. I've been working since Jan 2013, we have recently been going through our application for the RSMS (Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme) until my employer let us know that we would have to hold off as the work load isnt great.

Unfortunately I dont make the 60 points.

I'm 24 (25 in Jan)

Qualified level 3 in UK Carpentry and Joinery

Passed Skills assessment last month

Worked 2 yrs post grad in england, 1.5 in Aus.

Hope to gain a 7 on IELTS, won't make an 8 i imagine.

At this rate its looking like i might get let go... So I really need some help.

Firstly - Are there any PR visa's that anyones knows i can try for? We are thinking state sponsorship, but even that is looking bleak. NSW have on SOL but they have closed apps until oct, were they will give a new SOL. And WA only has carpentry, so looking into that at the mo.

Secondly - Does anyone know of any tradesmen who could take over our sponsorship??? Willing to relocate anywhere, currently roster inland from the gold coast.

Really hope someone can help me.

Thanks

I just put your points down in red, agree you are looking short there. Have you actually taken IELTS? Getting 20 points for that would clearly be the solution to your problems. It just requires literacy for the native English speaker and most of us do have that, it can be a bit harder for those people not used to using their literacy skills on a regular basis, but practice can help in that case.

I make that you are still short even with state sponsorship, unless it is regional state sponsorship. Any relatives in the woodwork that could sponsor you? This would also be a visa with regional restrictions and not a great option, but it is an option. Have you actually lost your job now, or can you hold on until January and then you get another 5 points for age.