489 nt state sponcership

Hey all. I'm currently in the process of applying for the nt state sponsorship 489 visa. I have everything in process to apply for this visa or so I taught. My agent is after telling me that I need to get a letter off an employer offering me a contract. She funnily enough tells me this after I paid her $2000 deposit. I've got in contact with a few electrical contractors and have even been called for interviews but I cannot attend as I'm back in the uk. When I explain this to the employer they tell me they need to fill the positions straight away and they cannot wait until my visa is granted ( which I totally understand). I'm sure I'm not the only person experiencing these problems so I'd be very appreciated if ye could share how ye got round this problem. Or what sites are the best to look at etc. if ye don't want to post here due to thinking outside the box feel free to pm me - thanks in advance for yer help

I'm a electrician by trade.i have a Northern Territory licence too as I've been over there already on a working holiday visa not so long ago My issue isn't so much with my agent although she could of told me this at the start. I actually think she is a good agent. I've already been asked to come for 2 interviews by 2 different company's but when I tell them that I need to get a job offer before I can go for a interview they more or less tell me to f**k off which I can totally understand. I'm just wondering if I really need this letter as I don't see it stated on the NT website. So I'm just wondering if anyone else applying for the 190 or the 489 visa experienced this and how did they go about obtaining this or is my agent just been over cautious with my visa application. Thanks again in advance