Social worker with potential 60 points, does this guarantee invitation to apply?

kmrg

Hi all

I am a qualified social worker with one years experience, but lots of pre qualification experience. I am looking to apply for residence visa next year once I have two years experience.

Due to conbination of age and years post qualified experience I have found that I will only be able to get maximum of 60 if I get score of 8 on IELTS. Do I stand a good chance of being invited to apply for visa with 60 points? Or should I consider state sponsorship to get extra 5 points?

Obviously this is all dependent on getting a score of 8 on IELTS which may not be that easy!

Thanks

Hey, I don't know which visa you're looking at, but if you qualified in the uk ex Scotland and have to take the skills assessment then you'll need to be eligible for aasw registration, meaning you'll need four years PQ experience in order to pass the skills assessment. This is because the social work degree in aus is four years as opposed to three years in England and Wales, so the extra years training is replaced by four years experience.

of course the whole thing is a joke given many social workers in Oz didn't take specific social work degrees, aasw registration isn't mandatory as it is in the uk, and the whole social services system, for adults at least, is approx fifteen years behind the uk.

Ps a warning as this info may be outdated - I was last researching it properly in 2010. But looking at the aasw website today it says you need at least three years' experience outside Oz, or one years' experience in Oz...

I am not sure if this will make a difference, but I have a first degree which was 3 years study in economic and social history, then did MSC social work which was two years?

The problem is once I have 4 years post qualification experience I will be 36/37 and so close to getting less points for age.