Choice of PR visa

mikeyd

Good afternoon all.

I'm hoping I could get a few opinions to help me make a choice with which PR visa to go for.

Currently I've been working as a civil engineer on a 457 for 20 months and plan to stay for a good while longer so long as there's no drastic changes here, my now wife (married in December) is also on my visa. From research I believe I could go for the 186, 187 or 189 visas yet I am undecided.

My employer would happily nominate me if I wished to go for the 186 or 187, however I would have to wait another 4 months to have done the 2 years work here so I would probably be looking at the 186 to get things going sooner. I also have thought about staying independant of the company and going for a 189 so I am not tied down. As far as I'm aware, each of these visas costs just as much, has same medicals, checks etc required.

What I am looking to find out is do any of the visas come through quicker say if they are nominated by a company, as in do they favour being nominated rather than going independant? Which one is likely to go through with the most ease? We are going to be looking to start a family soon, so is it best to get the visa before the wife is pregnant? I have been told that adding a child onto a PR visa is as simple as a letter to the government, but getting a visa with the child in the application is extra cost, anybody able to help? Also, she is currently on her previous surname on her UK passport, haven't updated as it's a good $400 and frankly, I don't believe she would absolutely have to change it or whether there is a law against not changing it? Will we have a problem with the difference in names when applying or do they use common sense and ask for a marraige certificate to show we're hitched?

Many questions, but I think they are the main ones I can think of. I've tried searching and reading the visa progress threads but it's not easy to find the info.