Applying for subclass 186

Tara26

I am currently on a 5 yr subclass 461 (New Zealand family sponsorship visa) with my kiwi partner. I am a fully qualified vehicle painter and have been working for my Australian employer for over 2 years now. I only have 2 years experience in the trade so have to wait until July 2014 until I'm eligible for sponsorship.

I'm really nervous about doing this visa even though I have done everything by the book. To gain permanent residency and go on to become an Australian citizen means so much to me. Has anyone done this visa successfully and what visa did you transition from? Also do you recommend using an agent for this visa? As it's for permanent residency and may be a bit more complex than a temporary visa.

I went for the rsms as my job didn't pay enough for the ens.

Personally I used an agent as my employer had never sponsored anyone and I wanted to be sure they had everything right. They didn't really understand how in depth immigration are. For example job descriptions. I'm glad I did.

Guest MigrateAustralia

Hello Tara26,

You may be eligible to apply for subclass 186 visa once you have worked in your current position for that employer for 2 years provided the employer is willing to sponsor you, and provided both you and the employer meet the criteria. It can be a complicated process and engaging a migration agent to assist can mean a successful and less stressful experience for you.

All the best to and your partner.

Warm regards,

Philip

I went for the rsms as my job didn't pay enough for the ens.

Personally I used an agent as my employer had never sponsored anyone and I wanted to be sure they had everything right. They didn't really understand how in depth immigration are. For example job descriptions. I'm glad I did.

Thank you for your reply. How much roughly did your agent end up costing you? I thinking it was definitely worth the money?

Hello Tara26,