Mortgage self employed

Polkey

Hi All, looks like im going to be able to start work self employed, hopefully.

My question is, can any one tell me how many months/ years accounts i would need to have before applying for a mortgage? I know the benefits of being my own boss will be worth waiting a bit longer to buy but wanted to check it wasn't to long.

Thanks everyone,

John.:notworthy:

hi john

you only need your ABN (australian Buisness Number) for 1 day, then you can apply for a mortgage, it will be a Low Doc mortgage which will cost you slightly more. im in the process myself but by supplying all my work references and tax receipts from the UK im hoping they will give me a normal mortgage.

im no expert and im sure someone will correct me if wrong.

hope it helps gazza

Cheers Gazza,

I imagined it to be a lot longer than that, i know in the UK they have reduced it over the years but thats great.We don't intend on buying foe at least 12 months anyway.

Im used to paying more for being self employed, they love to clobber you for more but you learn to expect it and i think its a small price to pay to work for yourself, it has far greater rewards.

All the best.

Guest BullcreekBob
My question is, can any one tell me how many months/ years accounts i would need to have before applying for a mortgage?

G'day John

It largely depends on the size of your deposit.