• 2 weeks later...

I will PM you ( if i can figure out how) a Mortgage broker I highly recommend in the UK. not sure if she will be able to help you but a quick email may be the way forward.

I was a property manager back home ( Australia) and will be returning to this in May when I arrive. I have a rental property in the UK and I personally would not recommend rental properties for investments in the UK due to the silly laws unless you have good insurance. A friend of mine has had her tenant not pay rent for the past 2 years, she has been to court 3 times an each time the Judge has refused to evict the non paying tenant as he would become homeless. I also needed to take my last tenant to court to have the deposit after he left and the judge did not award cleaning cost only £70 or the cost of repainting as he said it was reasonable to expect the new tenants to clean or repaint if they don't like the smoke damage! Needless to say we bore the cost of this. Insurance is a must!

• 3 weeks later...
I am wanting to invest in the UK with the vision of moving back within 5 years. Im finding it very difficult to find a money lender. have lived in Australia for 14 years and have equity in an Australian property.

​Has anyone got any avenues?

Hi Michelle

I am looking at this same scenario at the moment. If you mean use your Australian equity then you can forget that! You will need cash deposit from what I have found no less that 25% although someone like hasbc want 40%!!