is it cheaper to bake!!!!!!!!

Guest jonny.co@tiscali.co.uk

Guest jonny.co@tiscali.co.uk

hi everyone. been on the aldi homepage,and got a bit of a shock at the price of cakes,and sweet treats.BLOODY HELL $9.99 for a cake. anyway we all have a sweet tooth in our house,and i am a really good baker of scones,cakes ect BRAGGING BITCH!!!!!!!!!!LOL.does anyone do alot of home baking over there,are the ingredients cheap or expensive.could not afford to buy ready made,we would be bankrupt in a month!!!!!!!!!any info would be really good.thanks.:notworthy:

Guest Mrs Braveheart

Hi Nichola

The last thing you will want to do over here is bake in the heat. Its too bloody hot to do housework (which is great:jiggy:). You will either be by the pool or at the beach or a barbie :biglaugh: $9.99 is only approx £4 for a cake not that bad if your talking about a big cake not a single one. Hubby had a really sweet tooth before we came here now its the beer :wacko:

Janette

Guest freckles

The cakes here are double the size of ones in the UK ....................and no I dont bake, dont do cooking.........only got a kitchen cos it was in the house .........life is too good here for doing all that mundane stuff......you live here.............spa,beach,eating out awwwwwwwwwwww bliss

Haven't eaten a cake for a while but would think that £4 for a cake is not too bad......there are plenty of independant bakers around selling good value cakes as well!

Guest afiyafifi

Had a look at the aldi web page , the cake you are on about is a gatuex size cake and there about £ 2.99 here in the uk .

• 2 weeks later...

Just want to say...

I MAKE ALL MY OWN CAKES AND BISCUITS AND PIZZAS !!!

Hurray for me!

This is because we live in FNQ and the ones in the shops are :-

a. rubbish

b. expensive

c. full of crap

I never used to bake in the UK, everything came direct from Tescos, but you just can't get that sort of quality here (we have Woolworths, Coles and IGA).