820/300 visa query - missing some criteria..

CharlieCole

Hey folks

This is my first post on here, so thankyou for reading and I'd welcome any feedback!

I'm from North London and have been over in Melbourne since late Nov 2010, so have done about 26 months so far. When I came over initially I was on a WHV, but I was sponsored after 6 months by my current employer and am now on a 457 visa (I'm a recruitment consultant - sorry).

Since I've been in Aus, I've been in a relationship with my now-fiance, who is an Aussie citizen and who I met travelling on Boxing Day 2009. We are getting married on March 21 this year, and I'm looking at visas that I can apply for that allow me to stay here without work restrictions. The main two seem to be the 820 partner and 300 (prospective marriage) visas.

It's all totally legit so have no qualms about doing it, but there's two areas of the criteria that I'm concerned about not meeting, and wanted to see if anyone had had any similar issues.

1. 12 month de facto - we've been living together for the past 2 years (pretty much, a couple of months short maybe) but the lease has always been in my name, not both of ours. So I'm not sure whether that means we can prove we've lived together or not. Although we have had a shared bank account for in excess of 12 months that we've paid rent out of. However, all utility bills etc are also in my name - my fiance is pretty disorganised when it comes to that stuff, so I've been looking after it all.

2. This is the main one - she works in a cafe and gets paid in cash, and doesn't pay tax. So we can't actually prove she's worked at all over the last 2 years..although we can prove bank accounts that have had money paid into them, we can't show where that money has come from..

The rest - stat decs, photos, etc etc should be no hassle at all, and I'm in the process of getting that together in case, but does anyone have any advice as to what to do?