do i sell my uk home?

Guest mazanddave

Guest mazanddave

hi i am in the process of applying for my skilled visa (I am a social worker). Cant see a problem in getting it. However, what is concerning me the most is whether i sell my uk home or rent it out? Advice needed please.

I am a bit worried as the exchange rate from UK to Australian dollars is very poor. If i sell my home do i leave the money in a uk bank account until the exchange rate improves? Or am i better renting my house out? or am i better buying a house in australia.

The australian house prices are sky high and internet searches are stating that it is possible that australia could have a property crash from 2013 onwards and that Australian homes are approximately 40 - 60% over valued. This is what happened in the UK when everybodies house prices crashed with the recession. I am therefore worried about buying due to a potential crash.

I have a lovely 4 bed house in the uk with a garage and after looking on the net at australian properties, i will get nothing near to what i own now! Rents are also sky high in australia!

Am i best just coming to Australia with £20k equivalant to set my family and I up? Is this enough?

Also any advise on the best places to rent (cheaply) would be appreciated. We were looking at Perth but social workers are needed all over australia so we just want to settle somewhere cheap, what we can afford to rent out initially, before we decide on a more permanent fixture.

Well really nobody can say which is better, because we do not know what will happen. Some people choose to sell and some to hang on and rent out, I opted for not selling just yet but only time will tell if this turns out to be a good decision.

I have been hearing about this property crash around the corner for quite a few years now.

Guest The Pom Queen