Second working holiday visa question

Guest FayeFaye

Guest FayeFaye

Hi Guys,

I have been regularly visiting this site and reading with interest for the past few months but this is my first time posting a thread. I was wondering if anyone could shed a light on our situation and the best option for us. Basically myself and my partner Quinn are both looking to move to Australia asap (potentially just for 12 months). The problem is that he has already used his 1st working holiday visa and unfortunately whilst he was in australia he broke his leg quite seriously and as a result was unable to complete the 3 months work. So we are left in a position whereby i can get a WHV but he can't get an extension. Am i right in saying there is no scope for extenuating circumstances as he was unable to complete the work due to his injury?

Also does anyone know what the terms of a 977 visa are and whether he could actively look for work if entering Australia under this visa?

We are trying to avoid the skilled migration route as his occupation is on the list but he hasn't yet got enough experience in his field to apply and we would really like to go before we have children etc.

Thanks in advance for your help!!

Hi Faye Faye,

Firstly welcome to the site - I hope you will get the answers you are looking for.

I'm not an expert but I do believe you find it pretty hard to persuade the powers that be to extend your partners WHV - hopefully somebody more knowledgeable than me will confirm this later and answer your question re the 977 visa

All the best in your plans

NWM

Sorry if he didnt do the 3 months work - he will not be eligible. WHV is once in a life time - and you can only get the 2nd one if you put in the work to get it, nobody is automatically entitled to it.