How is Work Experience Calculated

Kimorjack

Hi all,

A bit confused on this - hoping someone has the answer...

Been self employed IT contractor for over 15 years.

Took ages to get the ACS documentation together.

As a contractor I've been able to submit the following info to ACS:

Agency Reference Stating Position and Dates for each job

Could only get some Company References stating type of role I completed - as most companies were not able to provide this to me.

ACS have stated in the Result Letter that Im suitable for the ANZSCO code I wanted. In total they've given me 2.4 years experience out of the last 10 years, this is because the other companies have not given me a detailed reference, as its against company policy.

For my Visa I need the maximum points available for over 8 years experience.

How do DIAC calculate this? Do I provide the references I have from the Agency's to prove I have over 8 years experience (along with supporting Financial information from Accountants, Contracts etc) - or do DIAC want 8 years "proven" experience in the eye's of the ACS?

In the last 10 years, I've worked for one company for 5.5 years, and the other 2.5 years - and its their company policy only to give Dates in the reference - I have tried contacting previous colleagues - but they are scared of getting involved (not wanting to go against company policy). The remaining 2 years are covered with a Company Reference.

So in Summary - ACS have given me the ANZSCO code I need. But not given me the relevant number of years work experience I have (Not assessable due to insufficient documentation).

Will DIAC use this information - or will they take the references I can supply saying Ive worked in Company A, B, C D etc for X amount of years?

Hope this makes sense...at the moment - feel like this is a huge blocker...especially If I cannot get references.

thanks