How viable is this? Timescales and other questions...

ayatollah

Ok, it's been a couple of months since I've been on the forum. Last I was seen I was discussing trying to convince my wife over the opportunity to migrate with a young child. She is pregnant, due in November, I think we have came to an understanding about moving to Australia. We will be looking to move to Tasmania (Hobart), we have family and friends based there and one has always said that he would do his utmost to get me sponsorship to move over. (He is the manager of an IT firm and I am a software developer.) My wife would also love to study nursing, and we have seen that there is a 2 year fast track course in Hobart. I think I read somewhere recently that this might be being discontinued though.

So my questions are:

- With my wife looking to study Nursing, if there is a course in 2014 she will need to apply by August 2013. Which means we will have to have a PR visa. Is this timescale doable with an employer sponsored visa?

- With the child on the way, we would need to include the child on the visa application. Does this mean we have to wait until November before we can apply? Would this impact the timescales for the visa, bearing in mind the date we would need to have PR by?

- When would be the earliest you would advise travelling with a new born baby? I was thinking 6 months, which would bring us into May 2013 before being able to travel.

- Should I begin the process of getting in contact with the family friend with the job offer now? Seeing as we may not be moving for up to a year would this not be premature?

- What should the chain of events be for us in this situation? Is there anything else we need to do? Is there anything else you need to know for an informed decision? :)