Contractors licence in NSW ?

Guest Woody

Hi

Anyone else out there heading to NSW and planning on being self-employed/sole trader?

I have work lined up contracting (i hope) to a friend in Sydney installing kitchens but i've recently discovered that i need to obtain a contractors licence before i can undertake any work in private homes.

I've spoken to dept. of fair trading and they said it would be upto the assesing people at TAFE to decide if my supporting documents i.e. stuff i submitted to the TRA , are sufficient to gain a licence.

Another bloody hurdle!

So i was wondering if any one else has used their TRA docs to gain a licence and were you successful ?

Cheers

Paul

Guest Ron & Chel

Hi Paul Ron from pool im a plumber and passed the tra as a plumber but i do know to be able to work on my own as a self employed plumber i have to go to nite school for two years to basicly retrain as an Australian plumber this is because i passed my tra before they closed pathway d

cheers Ron

Cheers Ron. Where did you find this info about doing night school and how many nights a week?

Having asked that, i am in a different catergorie to you.I'm a kitchen installer so would need a joiners contractor licence. I'm pretty sure they will be much stricter with trades such as plumbers and electricians.What do you think?

I have a friend in Sydney who has spoken to dept. of fair trading and they have said it will be up to the assessing people at TAFE college to decide if my TRA supporting documents are sufficient enough to gain a licence.

Cheers

Paul

Guest mansfiea

Hey there, we are are in Queensland, so Im not sure if its the same.... but....