It is possible to claim work experience points before qualification?"

Eugen

Hi,

I have a dilemma, and I really need an advice.

The facts are:

• I've got my positive skills assessment (accountant general) before 1 July 2011 by ICAA;
  • I finished the University's courses in 2002 but I took the final exam two years later in 2004;
  • between 2002 and 2004 I worked as an accountant.

I really need to claim 15 points for all 8 years, and that period is included too. But I've got really confused, because I understand that DIAC might not consider that period because is not post qualified work experience. I've searchedover the DIAC site, but I didn't find anything to clearly specify something about that. Moreover on ICAA site I didn't find specification about post qualification like those on CPA site.

I'll appreciate any idea or advise about this issue.

Thanks

Guest Guest31881

Hi Eugen,

Welcome to PIO.

I have moved your post to a thread of its own, It ran the risk of being missed on the older thread you had posted on. I am sure someone will be able to offer advice to you on here.

I 'think' the experience does need to be post qualification for DIAC purposes. Your best bet would be to have a chat with a registered migration agent. they'll be able to advise whether your experience counts and if not, whether there are other options for you.

Accountants seem to take a million exams before they qualify but you did get a positive assessment but the other post is right, speak to an immigration consultant, they will know the real answer.

Thanks. I'll try to find an immigration agent to speak with about this. I was thinking that someone have already passed through this