ACS and IT Contractors

Kimorjack

Hi all.

Been having an absolute nightmare trying to obtain references from past companies that I've worked with..examples:

Ref type (a) = Stating name, position, date of employment ONLY (Headed paper)

Ref type (b) = Colleague Reference (Headed paper)

Ref type © = Colleague Reference (Non-headed Paper)

CompanyA (Existing) - Can get Ref type (a) from both the Agency and a Ref type (b) by Representative of the Company (Ref type b) - (this will cover last 16 months)

CompanyB - Can get a Ref (a) from the Agency and Ref © from a Colleague (2.5 years)

CompanyC - Can get ref type (a) from the Company (not the agency) and a Ref type © from a colleague (5 years)

Do I need to go back any further? (I have another 7 years worth of work experience that I could cover ..same type of scenario). Some agency's no longer exist!

Has anyone else had this scenario and had favourable ACS assessments?

Also...just to throw in a spanner...Company B and C...Worked for Agency ABC...who's client was ZZZ who was the Outsource Company for YYY. (which References have you obtained!)...as theoretically I work for the Agency...

Surely Im not the first IT contractor/Consultant to have these issues?

Time is running against me now - as this has dragged on so much (especially talking to HR/Agency people...who really don't want to help!).

thanks

I had the exact same mare you had as I contracted too, some would only give details of the time I was there and not go into detail about my tasks, I think its some stupid UK law they all adhere too, probably laziness too.

You could always write out your own job descriptions and then get them to add it to a letterhead and sign, make sure they check it for correctness but only you know what you did as some managers wont have a clue what you actually did.

Sweet talk other employers who are dragging their heels and tell them how important it is to get these references.