Air Conditioning Engineer

true blue1

Hi,

I have 8 years experience of Air Con & Refrigeration and have a City & Guilds (NVQ) level 2 and C & G 2079 F Gas.

I am moving to WA on a partner visa, so will be able to get my skills assessed when I arrive. I am thinking of applying for Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) at the Polytechnic of WA. Has anyone taken this route and what was involved? Is it the better route than ARTC? RPL is more expensive but they do offer gap training.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

• 2 weeks later...

I think your getting things a little mixed up. I am currently in Perth going through my RPL to get my AQF III in refrigeration and air conditioning. After you get this you then apply to arctick for your refrigerant license and energy safety wa for your restricted electrical. Doing the RPL is a right pain but you have to do it to gain your licenses . Any qualifications you have from the UK mean nothing. My college tutor wouldn't of taken me on if i didn't have my skills assessment so you need to do that. Im currently getting my head around psychometric charts as i have an assessment on wednesday which im getting quizzed about them . It is all achievable though.....so i hope!!!!!

Thanks for that James. Did you have your skills assessed at the same place you are going through your RPL? Are you working as a trade's assistant now, (which I believe requires you to have your skills assessed to AQF 11 standards) or, are you at college full time? How long has it taken you? What was involved? Did you work in Air Conditioning back in the UK?

Sorry for all the questions.

Send me a PM if you like.

Many thanks, Ryan.