Claiming 15 Points for Unassessed Degree via Distance Education

nishasharma

Hello There.

I've already filed 189 application last month. I have claimed 15 points (EDUCATION only) for a totally unrelated (to my skills) degree I got via Distance Education.

Now the thing is this degree from Madras University was not assessed because i assumed the University is CEP Grade 1 (which I still think it is).

My question is will the CO accept it or, well, just throw out my application because the degree is not assessed?

I have my diploma assessed by ACS but that I've used only to get work experience points.

Thanks in advance for your input!

From what ive read I thought to claim points for a degree it had to be closely related to the occupation your applying under and have it assessed by the relevant authority. However thats just my humble impression!

No, there is no requirement for the degree to be closely related.

OP you will get your points if the degree is recognised in Australia. I would be slightly concerned about a distant learning degree and would have taken some professional advice on this before applying. You have already applied, so nothing to do but wait and see what happens, there is no point taking advice now..

I can't see anything in the regulations or written policy that rules out counting distance education per se. However, as a matter of practice the case officer may be more likely to have doubts about a distance learning qualification.

Jupiter's suggestion to have your degree assessed by VETASSESS is a very good idea. If the advice from VETASSESS is positive, this will be highly persuasive, and you may not need to do anything more than this. If not, this is not necessarily the end of the matter, but it will make things difficult.

In the absence of positive VETASSESS points test advice, there are a few additional matters to consider.