WA electrical licensing and how it is as of today !!

woodymcfc

I have to apply for my license here in WA through energy safety, If you read my previous posts although I am an industrial maintenance electrician, I also carry out installation work but not domestic... My ARTC process has been a nightmare and is still ongoing. I have my electrical fitters ARTC to which I will be doing a one day course to gain my restricted license (fitting work only), I have been offered a job with this license in what I have been doing since I served my time 20 yrs ago. TRA will NOT issue an ARTC until you are in Oz. They require a copy of your stamped passport with date of entry.. Once you get your ARTC you can then apply to energy safety for your license. This application will take 4 weeks to process, because energy safety are apparently understaffed and overworked !! When you receive the letter from energy safety it will allow you to enrol on a course at your local tafe. For Electrical mechanic This is a 2 week electrical trade licensing course (IEE regs course in UK). Depending on the availability of courses you could be waiting for a long time, I have made enquiries only last week and the next available course here in WA is the end of MAY !!! With this letter you receive from Energysafety you also get a 'permit to work' this allows you to work supervised until you get your license, you have 12 months to get your license sorted with this..that is how it is in WA, I have spoken with one of the top dogs at Energysafety and this has been explained to me in detail... I got fed up with being given conflicting advice from the administrators at these places and eventually got to speak with someone who actually knew what they were talking about, hope this helps...

Edited by woodymcfc

Guest wendyd