applying as a graphics tradesperson - anyone else the same?

Guest paulocon

Guest paulocon

Just about to post of my TRA assessment form and docs - applying for a SIR Visa as a Graphics Pre-Press Tradesperson. Wondered if anyone else out there as applied as the same and could offer some help and advice before I post of my all important docs!!!

Cheers

Paulocon

Guest mickw

Hi

I applied for a visa as a 'Graphic Pre-Press Tradesperson'. The thing the TRA like are trade certificates, qualifications, work references and experience. I acquired the trade certificates when i served my apprenticeship as a compositor - City and Guilds etc.

The description they use for a 'Graphic Pre-Press Tradesperson' is mostly now outdated - mainly applies to letterpress, manual planning and gravure procedures. But they seem to like you to be aware of these. I take it you are a 'Mac Operator"?

Cheers Mick

Guest paulocon

Hi Mick, many thanks for your reply - Yes I am a mac operator but also class myself as a pre-press operator as most of my duties involve pre-press production nowadays.

Have you applied for a visa and were you successful?

I have included everything in my application I can get my hands on etc.. although I have no trade certificates only diploma certs and work refs to evidence - so not sure how its going to go.

Thanks again for your advice.

Paul

Guest mickw

Hi Paul

You will be applying for the same as me. Yes I was successful - visa was granted on 17th April this year - yippee!!

Even though I had certificates etc to submit they really do need evidence of employment. In my case I had to go back to an employer I was working for back in 1992 - the only one that was still in existence - the rest of the companies I had been employed by were no longer trading. It had to list my job title, duties, salary etc. Good job I left on a good terms because it really did make a big difference to me getting approved by the TRA.