Pharmacist to be (4th year MPharm) looking to emigrate.

jdad84

Hello guys, My partner and I travelled down the east coast of Australia (cairns to sydney) for a few months in 2009 and fell in love with the place. Since then I've been progressing along with my degree and I'm half way through my 4th year. Having searched for other pharmacists on the forum I didn't find anyone in a similar position.

Basically, my partner and I (soon to be married) are looking to emigrate upon me registering as a pharmacist here in the UK (roughly 18 months time). I'm looking for advice on how to make best use of my time for applying for visas etc so once I'm qualified we can emigrate ASAP.

From my research so far I have found out that I need a letter of good standing from the GPhC (the pharmacy body here in the UK) which I can request when I register as a pharmacist, I'll have to complete a competency exam for registration in Oz and will have to undergo 200 hours of supervised work prior to being able to register.

It's all theory at the moment and there doesnt seem to be much I can do, I guess what I'm looking for is someone with real experience of making the trip to let me know what the craic is i.e. what the entire process is, how long it took etc.

Also, I've had a look at the new system for applying for a visa and it seems that to get the 65 points I would need to ace the IELTS exam, what's up with that? can't they give me a few points for being english??

I hope there's a pharmacist or two here that can give me some practical knowledge!

Thanks in advance,

Jay.

• 2 weeks later...

Hi Jay,

I'm in the EXACT same situation! Have been trying to get as much info on these forums as possible. I don't know much about visas but with regard to the exams, I have found quite a good bit of information(the APEC website is fairly straightforward). Studyconnect.com is also very useful with some huge threads on there with people in similar situations.