newie, where to start?

Guest erma

Guest erma

hi everybody, found this forum last night and i am hooked. After years of dreaming about moving to oz we have decided to take the bull by the horns (or is that the kangeroo by the tail?!) and go for it.

Any advice on where to start asap, i am a 41 year old nurse my husband is a 42 year old plumber/gas fitter does any one see any major stumbling blocks due to our ages?

Which agency?? there seems to be quite a few out there. cannot wait to start process any help at all would be really really really welcome

cheers Erma

Guest Beki

Hi and welcome Erma,

You're in the right jobs and you're still young enough. Phone around agencys or you could have a go at doing it yourselves.

My husband is a plumber/gas fitter and I'm a teacher, we're going in on a skilled independant visa with hubby as main applicant. The first thing we did was to get his skills recognised by TRA (Trade Recognition Australia). Lots of form filling and evidence to collect!

Good luck, where do you think you'll end up?

:D Beki :D

Guest erma

hi Beki

thanks for reply

most prob. Queensland. we are hoping to holiday over there next year to check it out but wanted to get ball rolling on application first.

i have an aunt in Nanango and hoping to visting her (only met once years ago so hope everything goes ok)

Brisbane looks good

cheers Erma

Guest dobbin74

Hi erma

My wife and I are going for the skilled visa and looking at brisbane as well. I am a joiner and my wife is a nuse,we are applying in her name because they are crying out for nurses.

We are using concept australiain manchester ,we had a face to face talk with them for about 1 and a half hours and they explained everything. They said it takes about a year for everything to get sorted.

Never been to australia before so you will have to keep us posted if you go and visit.

ps are you taking children with you?

Guest erma

hi dobbin74

perhaps we`ll see you out there you never know!