LAFHA calculation.....is this right?

gemma1

Hi all,

I am new to Poms in Oz and have to say that reading all of the posts on here has answered a lot of my questions and helped a lot so a big thank you!

Sorry for yet ANOTHER LAFHA question but I am slightly confused by the whole thing. I am moving out to Sydney in Sept with my partner and have been offered a job working in the city paying $55,000 AUD per annum plus super on top of this. My partner works in retail management so should be able to get a good job fairly quickly and my job is comission based, but I have done some basic calculations on a "worst case scenario" and wondered if someone can let me know if I am missing anything or calculating this wrong....

I have calculated the LAFHA based on $42 per adult per week food and $500 per week on the rent.

ME -

Salary-LAFHA = $26,968 taxable income

Medicare Levy @1.5% - $404.52

Tax payable (15c for every $1 over $6k) - $3144

Total take home pay - $51,451.48 per annum

PARTNER

Salary based on 35 hours per week @ $20 per hour (most of the casual/retail bar jobs I have seen are around this level) - $36,400

Medicare levy - $546

Tax $4560 (15% - 15c for every $1 over $6,000)

Total take home - $2607.83

So our combined will be $6895.45????

Can anyone help with this??? xxx:wacko::wacko:

Guest overrunbycats

Hi

I'm moving over to Melbourne on a 457 in August so having not received any pay yet I can't be 100% certain, but I've looked into the LAFHA quite a bit and I'm fairly sure that you have to earn the minimum salary allowed by DIAC which is $47,480 for your visa to be valid. Therefore you can only deduct $7,520 from your salary as a LAFHA allowance.

Also, I think the $42 per person food allowance is actually the amount you can't claim as LAFHA. For 2 people you can claim up to $367 per week on food minus the $42 per person (so $283 per week) and a "reasonable" amount for rent - $500 per week in Sydney sounds about right I guess??