Tasmania for Motor Mechanic & family

Guest raynornina

Guest raynornina

Hi we are looking into moving to Tasmania (Hobart, we think) and would like more information regarding job prospects and cost of living etc.

My partner is a motor mechanic for diesel and unleaded motors. (self employed for over 6 year) . he has also worked on plant machinery.

i work as a home help care assistant but do not hold any qualifications only manual handling cirtificates.

We will be moving with our two daughters, age 1 and 5.

we are looking at houses within a 20 min drive of hobart and beach. but not sure of best location to bring family up.

My partner would like to consider setting his own business (garage or mobile).

looking at state sponsorship on 176 visa.

Any advise welcomed.

(we are from Barnsley, south yorkshire, uk)

Guest siamsusie
Hi we are looking into moving to Tasmania (Hobart, we think) and would like more information regarding job prospects and cost of living etc.

My partner is a motor mechanic for diesel and unleaded motors. (self employed for over 6 year) . he has also worked on plant machinery.

i work as a home help care assistant but do not hold any qualifications only manual handling cirtificates.

we are looking at houses within a 20 min drive of hobart and beach. but not sure of best location to bring family up.

Any advise welcomed.

Welcome to PIO.

Hopefully a few Hobartians will pick this up and be able to come up with some advice for you guys.

Good luck with your Tasmania journey.

Susie x

Guest SunshineSmile

Any advise welcomed.

Hi guys,

We have been living in Hobart for just over 2 months now and we love it. It certainly has some lovely places to live and bring up children. We live a 10 minute drive from CBD and we are on the river with bush behind us, I think we have the best of both worlds.. any direction we choose to drive at the end of the road we live on will bring us to a beach within 10-30 mins.