Can I take my mother

bellaboshade

Dear Poms in Oz

I am a new user to the system -this is my first message so hope I am doing this right.

My husband is a senior Doctor at Consultant level, I am a senior nurse and we have 2 children. He has been offered a very appealing post in the Gold Coast area which we have discussed and would love to take. At present I work part time and my mother (aged 73) looks after my son aged 1 and my daughter aged 11 when she is not at school. My mother is a widow, on minimum state pension and lives in a council house. She has no savings and we subsidise her income which was usually cash in hand but more recently via bank transfer. We also pay for her to come on holiday with us and for any other things she might need. Our dilemma is we would like her to come with us but I have 2 sisters and a brother still living in England. My eldest sister is in her 50's with 2 children of her own both living at home. She currently works part time on not a very good wage but her husband earns more. they are paying for my niece to go through university and are currently funding her placement as well as paying her previous fees for a course she recently completed. They also do not have the space for mum to live with them (she stays with us 5 days a week even though she has her council home so her bills both food and electic/gas etc are reduced at her home). My elder brother, also in his 50's lives in a 1 bed council property and is on minimum wage, no savings and no spare income. My other sister in her 40's has a small 2 bed property she was able to buy from money she received as a divorce settlement - she is however on minimum wage so could not support mum. As the youngest mum spends most of her time in our home and most of her time with us rather than my brother or sisters. I have looked at the migration websites and am concerned that she will not meet the criteria as a dependent as she has other children in England, even though they could not support