Confused of the Best route to take!

Guest sharkbiscuit

Guest sharkbiscuit

Hi if someone could help clear up these questions I have it would be much appreciated:

1) After you have been granted a 457 visa is there a set period in which you need to enter the country before it runs out! If I don't enter the country for example 6 months after the visa is granted does this take 6 months off of my visa length making it 3 years 6months left? or does the 4 year length of the 457 visa only start once you have entered the country?

2) Im aware that Australian immigration are reviewing the occupations on the SOL list in April this year, if my occupation is taken off the list and ive been it maybe as its a Trade (Carpenter) where do I stand? Also if I am living and working in Australia on a 457 with a view to apply for General skilled migration (i.e a 175) and during this time my occupation is taken off the list where does this leave me?!

3) Can a 457 and a 175 both be applied for at the same time while in the UK? or which one is best to apply for first?

4) If for any reason I fail the Skills assessment for my trade will in Australia and applying for on the 175 visa, will I have to return to the UK even thou I have been living and working on a 457 for 4 years?

5) Are UK City and Guilds qualifications recognized in Australia, if so can I easily get these transferred to Australian qualifications without the need for a skills assessment by TRA or Vettassess or an equivalent assessment body?

Quite a few tough questions I know but I would really appreciate your help fellow PIO!

Many Thanks :wink:

Guest Gollywobbler

Hi Sharkbiscuit

Welcome to Poms in Oz.

Your questions reveal that you are pretty confused about how all the new changes will work in practice. (Join the club because I am pretty confused too!)