UK Military graturity

Guest Cookie

Hi there,

we have just transfered some money via HIFX into our Oz account and are unclear what we can do about a naval graturity of £45k due in June 06 with regards weather we will be taxed on it. This is a tax free lump sum paid on retirement from the Royal Navy. We are moving over in March so will already be in country when graturity is due.

Any help appreciated.

Cookie

• 4 months later...
Guest spray21

I'm far from an expert but my best guess would be that it will count as income and thus be liable for tax.

Are you joining Australian Defence Forces?

Guest ABCDiamond

I have heard something about this before, but am not 100% sure how it works.

If the figure, and the entitlement, is confirmed prior to the date you leave, I feel that it should be considered to be your asset at the time, and hence not taxable.

Also consider the ATO position on UK Service related pensions:

Some foreign pensions or annuities will be exempt income in Australia and will not need to be included on your tax return.

Foreign pensions or annuities that are exempt income in Australia include:

* certain service-related UK pensions.

Source

Guest Littlenick

:D Hi all

Just reading your posts and was wondering whether either of you was joining the Australian Defence only my hubby is due out the Navy Feb 07 and he has sent all the paper work off to oz navy. We really want to move to oz but after speaking to an agent, we were told we couldn't start applying until seven months before his due out date because he was in the forces. Does anyone know if this is correct only we were hoping to move as soon as he comes out. The Australian Navy is another way of getting over there but I don't fancy the months apart again.

Will be interesting to see what you find out about the lump sum, pension and if you have to pay tax on it as well.

Take care

Nicky 8)

Guest spray21