electrician moving to oz

Guest bruceyboy

Guest bruceyboy

Hi im an electrician and looking to move to oz but am unsure if my qualifications mean anything over there, i am fully qualified and have looked on a couple of job sites for perth and surrounding areas but there seems to be requirements for certain things like "must have tech" and i dont know what this means.

If anyone can provide me with some info on being a uk qualified electrician in oz i would much appreciate it .

Thanks for any help....

Guest JohnKelly

G'day Bruceyboy, I am not an Electrician but I am aware that there are strict Licensing Requirements.

Here is the Link which I am sure will provide you with the information that you require, plus contact info to the various State Licensing Authorities.

http://www.erac.gov.au/

Cheers.

Guest mikebloke

hey brucey boy, i am a pom of sorts in adelaide, with my own electrical business. not sure about the details for other states, but the main basics are the same. apply to "trades recognition australia". search for the website. they send you a form and you have to get qualifications and references etc to prove you are a sparky. they send a letter back if you are approved, and then you coincide this with applying for a visa. when and IF you land, you re-apply AGAIN to same people to get the actual certificate, can take another 4 months after landing. you also then do an "A" class refresher course to prove you know your stuff (its easy) then get a full licence from the office of business and consumer affairs ( thats the adelaide bit). I know this as i have done it, plus i just interviewed a guy for a job who is in the middle of it all. the work is easier here than UK, less paperwork, easier houses to wire, simpler installations. basic rules are all identical. best difference is...THE EARTH WIRE IN THE T+E IS READY SLEEVED YEEEAH. Hope this helps, good luck.... Mike

Guest mikebloke