adelaide here we come???

Guest steve jarvis

Guest steve jarvis

Hi there, can anyone re-assure us we`re doing the right thing? we`ve been thinking of moving to OZ for the last couple of years now, bottled it a couple of times but now have booked a trip over there to suss the place out and will hopefully start the application when we get back at the end of march. We are limited on where we can settle due to the visa we can apply for, we`re going to Adelaide to stay with some friends, anyone else out there going to Adelaide? anyone in Adelaide now that could give us some info on the place?

i`ll be going with my wife and son who is 3years old, we want a better lifestyle and better opportunities for our boy. i am a painter and decorator by trade, main concern is will i get a job?

would be great to hear from anyone who`s been in our shoes :)

Guest Bex & Nick

Hiya

We're applying for an SIR with a view to going to Adelaide.

We both have the same thoughts about is it the right move to make - some days are a definite "yes", others "maybe" and sometimes when thinking about all our family its "mmm, na". However, I think that at the end of the day if its been on your mind for some time it's worth going out there just to give it a go - no one says that you can't come back to the UK, but at least you'll know and not wonder "what if...".

I've been to Australia before, spent about 10 months out there and loved it but didn't visit Adelaide. Obviously going out there now that I'm that bit older and more settled in my career in the UK is going to be somewhat different to the carefree backpacker existence!

I'd be interested to hear how you get on with your reccie! Good luck & have fun!

Bex

Guest steve jarvis

Hi Bex

we`d be going out there on the SIR visa aswell, have chosen adelaide as i have my best mate from school out there. He married an aussie and has been out there about 10years.