491 Offshore Application

Hi all,

I submitted offshore application (with PCC and medicals) in June 2021 and since then my application is under “Further Assessment”.

Today, I got an email to update an expired PCC, I have spoken to my agent and he said it is very tricky that even I re-applied for PPC and get visa granted, I will NOT be allowed to enter Australia until border opens (FYI, my occupation is not under critical category and I don’t think I can get exemption for travelling to Oz). The problem is that 5 years of 491 will be starting counted at the time of visa granted. 

My agent proposed to send the request letter to the to request them NOT to grand my visa until the border opens. May I know if anyone have tried that, before visa granted?  Or it is simply out of our control?  

Thank you.

Hi, 

You may have got the date wrong 06/21, but why would your agent submit an application with a pcc that was close to expiring. Also the agent dissuading you to provide the info for a possible grant outcome that still may take another year to finalise. Bizarre. 

In my humble opinion I would do anything to get my grant, remember it's a competition for spots, who knows you may have to wait until after July next year should they use up their current quota before "borders open".  There are hundreds of old applicants, with new ones joining every second. So anything to one up I would bite their hand off. 

Also you say that you got an email, I trust you mean the agent communicated this to you? Or who is exactly in charge of your application. I get not wanting to waste days, but nothing is certain until you get approved. Not all adds up. 

Thank You Southlander! Yes that was a typo, should be June 2020. My application was submitted in Feb 2020, with medicals and PCCs submitted in May-Jun 2020. I am sure my PCC was expired therefore I received an email from CO to update my PCC.