David from Scotland!

David Elliott

Hello!

New member, just signed up tonight so thought I would take this opportunity to introduce myself. My name is David, pretty obvious given my username and I am a 19 year old student currently studying computer systems and networks at BEng level with plans to progress on to honours next year, so I am quite a bit away from even applying for my visa.

I have been thinking of moving to Australia for a few years now and there is never a day that goes by without Australia coming into mind so is definitely not a 'spur of the moment' decision. The stories I have heard from people are just amazing which gets me very hiked up, I am mainly looking forward to the better climate and better lifestyle compared to what we get here in the UK and I am young so I have nothing to loose and only experience to gain.

My folks decided to move to Majorca many years ago, but because finding work and staying in work was very difficult we only stayed for a one and a half years so I know what it is like to move to another country, except in a way Australia will be a little easier as we both speak the same language.

After graduation I am looking to migrate pretty much straight away, I am not overly fussed about my residence in Australia as after doing some reading I have realised that the IT market is slightly saturated and that Queensland now outsources IT so really my residence in Australia will be solely based on opportunities available, which is slightly disappointing as I have family in Brisbane and would much prefer to be relatively close to them.

David :)

Hi David and welcome to the forum.

Have you been on the Immigration website to see what visa you may qualify for?

Lots of luck with your plans my family have been in Brisbane over 7 years and we have no regrets yet,lol

Cal x

Hi Cal, thanks for welcoming me.