189 Visa - IELTS Pass Issues & Other Issues

Good day all,

I am looking at applying for a 189 visa. I have managed to get a skills assessment completed by the ACS as an ICT Business Analyst, I have a relevant MSc to the subject and have been employed in the role for the last 23 years by the British Army. I have sat the IELTS three times now and I am scoring 9 in all areas accept the reading which I cannot get above 7.5 after 3 attempts. At present I am 5 point below the threshold of 60.

My wife is a part qualified CIMA management accountant and bookkeeper who has her Australian HSC including English and Maths.

​My wife is an ex permanent resident but this has lapsed and cannot be renewed. All of her family including mother/father/brother/sister and cousins are in NSW and Queensland and are now Australian citizens. We have been informed that we cannot get family sponsorship as I have brothers who still live in the UK although she has no other relatives in the UK.

My questions are:

1. Do I just crack on and keep taking the IELTS until I get a higher score?

2. Get my wife to try and get a skills assessment done and get her to do an IELTS and add her to the EOI?

3. Try to find some other route of entry? We would look at state sponsorship but NSW and Queensland do not have ICT Business Analyst on their list.

​Any suggestions and advice is greatly received

Regards

Sammi

Nic,

Any top tips on scoring above 8 on the reading side. I am doing fine on the rest I seem to only get 7.5 on reading every-time. Last exam was 9 across the board but 7.5 on reading.

Any tips is a help. I do wonder if I am reading into the question too much on the reading.

Nic,

Any top tips on scoring above 8 on the reading side. I am doing fine on the rest I seem to only get 7.5 on reading every-time. Last exam was 9 across the board but 7.5 on reading.

Any tips is a help. I do wonder if I am reading into the question too much on the reading.