A few questions about WHV

NottstoOz

I received my visa last week and I'm preparing to books flight, and with that comes a whole host of scary thoughts! Namely what do I need to do now to make my arrival a smooth process?

Which bank would you recommend to set up an account with and can I set it up now?

Which mobile network provides the best deal?

Which travel insurance company offers the cheapest deal?

Do I need to collect any identification numbers/right to work cards upon arrival? Kind of like the Aus version of a national insurance card?

You'll have to forgive my total ignorance as I've never done something this crazy before and I don't know anybody who has either! I've been doing research but it's always a good idea to ask people who have been there and done it :-)

Thank you!

Bank: I went with NAB, it's free and you can set it up before you arrive, day you land can get the card and stuff, and you can send over money before you arrive.

Mobile network: Anyone but Vodaphone, I went with Optus, coverage is pretty good, $30 a month PAYG gives me more then enough mins, texts, and internet usage. Telstra gives the best coverage, but is the most expensive.

National Insurance: You go to the tax office and apply for a Tax File Number, basically you fill in a form and in a couple of weeks you get the number in the post (most places I think they can send it to the post office as you won't have a proper address to begin with)

Travel Insurance: No idea really I went with outbacker insurance, haven't used it yet and I had my wallet nicked, and some cash nicked. That's about all I know!

Enjoy!

Hi,