Moving to Central Coast - advice on the region please?

AndyD69

Hi everyone, new to the site so please go easy :)

I am looking at moving our family from Leeds to lake Macquarie area or similar. I have family in Tumbi Umbi (near the entrance) and we have a base there for as long as required.

I am a designer (websites, graphics) and also have been Marketing Director. My wife is in social media and administration etc. I run my own business here and it is in part transferable, but for a visa I would take a job initially.

Can anyone help with work in the region... How difficult or otherwise it is in this area to find work in this field?

Also, where is good to live in the area? It all looks amazing when compared to suburban Leeds!

Any advice more than welcome.

Andy

Hi

we have lived here now for 6 years from the South in the UK Chelmsford, living in a Suburb called Hamlyn Terrace about half hour from Tumbi, it is good that you have family here that will help a lot.

Jobs aren't that easy to come by i used to work in Admin, but have not got a job in a call centre.

You would probably be best to find your own accommodation asap as living with family friends can turn in to a nightmare as it did for us with friends, as much as you love each other it can be very hard,

Lake Macquarie is lovely and there is a nice Resort there that you can rent places called Raffertys. We go there quite a lot as we have a Boat now bought last year, one of our dreams moving to Oz, certainly wouldn't have had that in the UK lol!!

Some great places to live but shop around and your family would probably be able to advise you there. Are you moving here with children?

Happy to help if needed

Frances and mark

Hi Frances and Mark! Thanks for your kind words. We'd love to keep in touch for any advice you can offer!

Yes, we are bringing family - a girl 8, boy 7 and potentially my eldest aged 17 (that's up in the air at the moment).