Much needed advise regards nurse and daughter moving to Mackay

nurseoz

Hi Guys,

I will apologise now for this may be a long thread and I have never done it before.

I have been offered a nursing post at Mater Hospital in Mackay. I’ve decided to take the post but there are lots of questions that I need to ask and who better to ask but you guys that are already there, so please, please, please can you help?

I’m a single parent with an 11yr old daughter (just turned 11yrs) so there would be just me and her coming out. My main worry is the lack of support in regards to shift patterns etc and being there for my daughter. Obviously this is something I will discuss further with my employee but as general info goes can anyone answer the following:

Schooling:

- Which primary schools are decent in Mackay and where are they?

- Would you say private school is better?

- Approx cost of private school?

- Are there any after and before school clubs? If so approx cost per hr/session and times open to and from?

- What age do they start secondary school? Which secondary schools are good too?

- Is there a decent University near by or would we have to move when that time comes?

Living in Mackay:

- What is Mackay truly like? Is it very rural and small? What amenities are there?? Cinemas, bowling, eating out, shopping malls etc? I’m not after living somewhere like Brisbane but I come from a place near Bury in Lancashire. I’d like to think I could compare it size wise to Bury.

- Is Mackay safe? Safe as in crime and safe as in beaches safe to be on in respect of crocodiles? I know there will be sharks but want to be able to enjoy the beach without looking behind me ever five minutes. Not sure if this is possible? Are there nice beaches available?

- Climate in Mackay? Is it bearable? I’ve heard it’s very very hot and humid. Just wondering how new pomsinoz are dealing with it?

- Also been warned about the mosquitoes? Are they a problem too?