Construction related career prospects in Oz !?!?

BenAtherton1

Hi all,

My wife and i are currently 'going through the motions' toward gaining our 190 (state sponsored visa) for either WA or SA.

We are hoping to expect to be invited to apply early 2013.

I am a fully qualified time served bricklayer, and whereas i am no longer currently working as a bricklayer within the UK (due mainly to the severe economic downturn), i am using my trade experience to gain access into Oz via the skill requirement (as bricklayer is still currently on various state SOL).

Meanwhile, back at home, due to the effects of the economic downturn, 2 years ago i started studying toward a HNC in building studies (one day a week, as there wasn't much work about anyway). After recently graduating from my HNC, as the only doors gaining the qualification has opened for me are toward further study, 'toward Hons Degree level', plus the fact that the industries economy hasn't really picked up any, i have decided to pursue studying toward my degree in building surveying.

With this in mind, my wife and i have eventually decided were prepared to continue with securing the 190 visa immediately, and upon receiving it, activating it with a holiday over there (which we cant really afford to be honest) and returning to complete my studies, with a view that on immediate completion of them in 2015, we would relocate to Oz before our 5 year relocation period would expire (which would be disasterous after all we would have been through).

The main question i have for all you 'lovely people' is...