First post- working holiday visa tax issues

Hello all. Been a big reader of this forum for a while now and have finally booked flights to Perth at the end of Jan. Myself and my girlfriend will be heading over after a few years of me pressing the issue.

I have got my whv as I am 29 and I am a site engineer/ engineering surveyor of 7 years. I am in talks with numerous construction companies about possible roles. I have been reluctant to go down the 457 sponsorship route as my gf is still not sold on the idea for anything more than a year.

I was just looking for info on cases where people have used the whv for more than just a backpacking job and what are the implications of it as I am aware there has been changes in the taxes.

I am hoping things work out and we go for the 457 visa as cannot wait to get out of UK. We are renting a holiday rental in Safety Bay which we have had a great deal on. Any info on the area would be great.

Thanks

Paddy

Guest katie007
Hello all. Been a big reader of this forum for a while now and have finally booked flights to Perth at the end of Jan. Myself and my girlfriend will be heading over after a few years of me pressing the issue.

I have got my whv as I am 29 and I am a site engineer/ engineering surveyor of 7 years. I am in talks with numerous construction companies about possible roles. I have been reluctant to go down the 457 sponsorship route as my gf is still not sold on the idea for anything more than a year.

I was just looking for info on cases where people have used the whv for more than just a backpacking job and what are the implications of it as I am aware there has been changes in the taxes.

I am hoping things work out and we go for the 457 visa as cannot wait to get out of UK. We are renting a holiday rental in Safety Bay which we have had a great deal on. Any info on the area would be great.

Thanks

Paddy