Exploring 2 routes to Migration

Kenfrapin

Morning/Afternoon/Evening all,

I have used this forum for a lot of information, going back to 2010, when we first seriously thought of moving from UK. Well, its 5 years later and we have started looking again which is why I decided to get stuck in and create my account :)

I wont make my first thread too long and only ask to clarify a doubt on the whole ACS assessment process. My partner has started by going through the works of getting CFA to assess her skills as an accountant/auditor/treasurer etc so if that works then great, we can make it using the 189 visa

As for me, and with many other folks working in the IT industry, you start from the ground up. So, though I have over 11 years experience within IT, its a varied mix of roles starting from the simple tester working my way up to a Senior Project Manager which is my title today (and for the last 3 years). Unfortunately my bachelors degree is in Electronics Engineering hence no points awarded for qualification forcing me to go down the ACS route. My question then : why can I not apply as a Software Engineer given I have been doing just that and getting better roles as I gain experience, instead of doing the same role for 6 years to get a very specific title such as Programmer (which is great if it were but not my case unfortunately)

Has anyone ever been in that position or know of someone in such a position?

Thanks

KP

Is your OH a fully qualified accountant? if so, it will be extremely easy for her to pass skills assessment (do you mean CPA?) and in which case the questions about you are all moot.