Sydney Finance Jobs - 4 year visa

Shayman

Hi

It is likely that around Jan 16 my girlfriend who works for one of the big accounting firms will get a transfer across to their Sydney office from the UK.

As her long term partner I will be coming along too on (initially at least) a 4 year visa. I am a fully CIMA qualified accountant who would have to find a new job independently.

Has anyone experience or knowledge of difficulties I may have finding a decent job in this sector due to my visa type? In other words will I be up against it being classed non-permanent?

I have a friend in Perth who has had to do random admin jobs not at all related to his trade as he says employers don't favour his visa status. I am therefore wondering whether it'd be worthwhile applying for a permanent one now in order to give myself a better chance.

Regards

If I were you - I'd be starting the application process for a permanent visa to give yourself the option at the end of the 4 years. As an accountant, getting that visa is a fairly straightforward process. I assume your going out on a 457 sponsored by your gf's employers?

You'd be in a much better position with a permanent visa, and who knows whether or not you would be able to get one in 4 years time if you did want to stay on in oz. I'm not out there yet, but the finance job market it meant to be a tough one right now, and I would imagine that employers would always chose a permanent resident over someone on a temp visa. Its only natural.

Hi

It is likely that around Jan 16 my girlfriend who works for one of the big accounting firms will get a transfer across to their Sydney office from the UK.

As her long term partner I will be coming along too on (initially at least) a 4 year visa. I am a fully CIMA qualified accountant who would have to find a new job independently.