Will an existing eVisitor cease when we apply for 309 ??

bma

Hi everyone,

I have a question about an eVisitor visa in connection to 309 visa application.

I'm an Australian permanent resident who's currently in Europe and going back to Australia in a few days. My hubby is coming to Australia with me; his eVisitor has already been granted and is valid for almost a year. He has NO "No Further Stay" condition on his eVisitor. An eVisitor allows its holder to stay in Australia for up to three months on each visit within a 12 month period from the date of grant.

We are thinking of applying for 309 after the first three months.

Does anybody know what happens with an eVisitor when its holder applies for 309? We'd like to do his medical on Bali and then send the complete and front-loaded visa application (with police checks and the medical) with a courier to our Australian Embassy in Europe or preferably lodge the 309 application at the Australian Consulate in Bali (especially cause my husband will return to Bali twice more). My darling would return to Australia on the existing eVisitor. By the way, we have already bought all the necessary plane tickets for all three necessary exits (before three months expiration date on each visit to Australia), although we still haven't decided will we apply for 309 or 820; we tend toward 309, especially with all the plane tickets to Bali now bought.

So does anybody know, what happens to an existing eVisitor when its holder later applies for 309? I hope it doesn't cease, that would spoil our plan.

I thank you in advance for any replies, kind greetings to all,

bma

Guest Guest31881