Immigration charges and process

PaulandJanine

Hello there,

I’m just about to start the full process of immigration to Oz, and I have a few questions before I start. I have job which is on the desired skill set of the state sponsorships, but how would this application be processed – would I apply as normal on a subclass 175 skilled visa, then once assessed by immigration, would a state then look at my application and offer me a 176 sponsored visa? In relation to the visa process, how would this work. I have been playing about with the online application wizard, and am I right in saying I will need my work skills assessed prior to application? I’m an engineer/consultant in the IT industry so I have already been looking at ACS (Australian Computer Society) to be assessed who require all my qualifications verified and 400AUD fee.

With regards to the Visa charges, I have noticed you need to pay two instalments for your Visa. Is the second instalment only if your English is weak, or does every applicant have to pay the second instalment? Also, does the money paid towards your visa application include your health and police checks, or do you have to pay for this separate? I’m trying work out how much applying for a visa will cost without using an agent, prior to starting my application as looking though the forum I can’t seem to get anything confirmed of costs and process.

Apologies if there has been a similar post to this, and I appreciate any advice or guidance you can offer me.

Thanks,

Paul

Yes you need your skills assessed before the application can be lodged.

The primary applicant only pays one instalment of the visa charge, because you would have to take IELTS in most cases, which proves your language abilities as competent or superior rather than merely functional (I think a 175 has a VAC of AU$ 2,960 IIRC); the 2nd instalment is for any dependants or secondary applicants who have less than "functional" english.