New pension Tax?

Guest Mike H

We are waiting for our visa to allow us to head out to Victoria in the not too distant future (I hope) & have been doing all the prep stuff that you go do.

I heard a scary thing today & wonder if anyone could shed any light.

A friend who is actually in the process of emigrating (ie has the visa) has told me that he has been told that as of the 1st April British Tax laws are changing & any company pension that you wish to transfer from the UK will be taxed at 40%!

I'm new to sorting out these type of finances (after years of the head in the sand approach to financial management) but this seems a tad unfair!

Any thoughts or news?

Mike H :!:

• 2 weeks later...
Guest mickroo

Hi Mike

In the boat as you on this one so I've been making a few enquires and have come up with the following info from a Brisbane pension company.

"There are some important changes happening to the UK tax system that you need to be aware of. We are waiting to get a definitive answer as to regulations. As it stands the HMRC have published these proposed changes to be implemented from April 6 2006 (A Day).

Important Changes to UK super Transfers

On April 6 2006 (A Day) the UK Revenue body will change the way benefits withdrawn from the UK are taxed. Broadly, the new rules will see most UK pension funds transferred to Australia taxed at 40% plus other penalties, where the payment date is on or after 6 April 2006.

However, although April 6 is fast approaching, many of the final regulations which set out how it will work in practice are yet to be finalised.

New Rules