Ceramic Tilers in Perth

Guest michelle1

Guest michelle1

Hi all, very new to all this, so bear with me! I am looking for a bit of help and advice - My family, (husband - 3 kids 8, 6, 3) hoping to be out in Nov 07 (Jan 08 at the very latest!).

David is a ceramic wall and floor tiler, self-employed here and has been in the trade for 18 yrs. We have passed the TRA and our visa application has been lodged. Wondering if anyone can help with advice on areas etc and if there are jobs out there for Tilers, if so any idea of the going rate and if David would have to be self-employed or employed by a company??

I currently work as support staff for the police, does anybody know if I am able to work for WA police if I am a permenant resident or do I need to gain citizenship first??

Appreciate any help you can give as i am currently going through the "are we doing the right thing stage!!!!!!" and looking for some reassurance!

• 4 weeks later...
Guest kazatthemadhouse

Hi. I know im a bit late replying to this and im no help to you at all - sorry - but i just wanted to say Hi as my hubby is a Tiler too and we would like to move to Oz. We haven`t even applied for a visa yet so we are not as along the process as you are , but i hope it all goes well for you. I posted a question about Tiling jobs and a guy called Eric put an interesting reply - cant remember what area he was talking about though (It`s a memory thing ....and age!!). My kids are a little older than yours - 16 & 14 - which is putting me off going at the moment because my daughter is not keen , but i'm working on it!! I hope you dont mind me asking, but did your Visa application go smoothly ? And how long did it take?

Best Wishes

Karen.

Guest michelle1

Hi Karen, our visa application seems to be going okay but we are using an agent so think that helps. Our TRA has beenapproved and our visa applicatin lodged and acknowledged - about to book our meds and police checks and then its just a waiting game.