457 through Recruitment Agency - PR?

Guest zuppy

Hi All,

I'm in Banking and have been on a 457 through a Sydney recruitment agency since July 06. I had intended to go de facto with my partner early next year. She's a kiwi and I just found out last week that she's a "non-eligible NZ citizen" as she's only been in the country since 2006. Sounds like I now have to get PR off my own bat which I should just qualify for (hopefully) through the points sustem with my degree and 10 yrs experience. What are the ways I can get PR? Can I apply somehow through my agency as I've been working for the same company through them for over 2 yrs?

Thanks for your help in advance.

Z

Guest Gollywobbler

Hello Zuppy

Welcome to Poms in Oz.

Since you are in Sydney (I assume) I would recommend that you ring up a Registered Migration Agent in Sydney called George Lombard. George is absolutely ace as many of his clients on here can confirm:

Visa Info | George Lombard Consultancy Pty. Ltd.

When you obtained your 457 visa in 2006, recruitment agencies were able to sponsor migrants for visas themselves. In about Sept/Oct 2007 new legislation was introduced that prevents recruitment agencies (all except for one called Workforce Solutions) from sponsoring migrants.

Go Matilda - Your Gateway to Australia - News

This change did not affect the validity of 457 visas like yours but I do not know whether the new legislation would prevent the agency from being able to sponsor you for PR. I'm not a migration agent so although I know bits & pieces, this question is not one of the bits & pieces that I know!

George would know what the answer to this question is, though.

As for whether you would be eligible for skilled independent migration, I don't know. You could have a look at the DIAC website:

Visa Options – Professionals and other Skilled Migrants – Workers – Visas & Immigration