457 visa advice is it worth it ?? im waiting for a 175

Guest sharkie

Guest sharkie

hi all

any advice please ,waiting for my 175 skilled independant visa ,but it looks like its going to be a while ,went in end of april 08!!! specially as ive done the bloody paper based :(

luckily (sorry all those who cant sell) ive no house or ties and can move straight away ,. i am moving to be with my girlfriend in sydney and just have to be there soon:arghh: !!

any advice on the 457 ,should i be able to find a company easy (im a carpenter ),wots the best way of going about this ? is it worth it ?or should i hold on and keep waiting ,im expecting my visa maybe early 09 but as you all no who no"s ??

hope someone can help

chris

Guest P.Ross

I would wait. I went to Gold Coast/Brisbane as a chef on a 457 and had to come home after 18 months due to employer making me redundant. Due to the fact I have 2 kids and couldn't have the uncertainty I am now back in the UK and waiting for a 175.

Paul

Guest Gollywobbler

Hi Sharkie

Is your girlfriend an Australian Citizen or Permanent Resident? If so, would a spouse visa be a goer for you? If you could get the temporary splouse visa, it would hold the fort till your 175 visa is ready to be granted.

If you go out to Oz on a 457 visa whilst you wait for your 175 visa to be processed, remember that you would need to be outside Australia again when your 175 visa is granted. A week in Fiji or Auckland would soon fix that, however, and lots of people do it.

As you are single, I'd be inclined to go for it with the 457 visa if you want to.

Best wishes

Gill

Guest itskaren
Hi Sharkie

Is your girlfriend an Australian Citizen or Permanent Resident? If so, would a spouse visa be a goer for you? If you could get the temporary splouse visa, it would hold the fort till your 175 visa is ready to be granted.