Working holiday visa - self-employed

Daniel Brocklehurst

Hello all!

I am looking to move to Australia for one or two years to live with my girlfriend, before moving back to the UK with her. I would like to earn money via English private tuition, as I have been tutoring in the UK for a year (before this, I was a secondary school English teacher). This work would therefore be self-employed, unless of course I used an agency to find work (in which case, they would be my employer, I assume?). Am I allowed to do this? How would the 6 month rule about switching employers work with this? The official Australian website only refers to having to change employers every six months, not anything about earning money through self-employed means?

I'm struggling to find anything concrete about this. I understand the nature of the working holiday visa - it's supposed to be for a holiday... is there a better visa, therefore?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Danny

A WHV is only good for one year. To gain the second year you will have to do your 3 months (or 88 days it actually is iirc) regional work to qualify for your second year. Else it'll mean departing Aus at the end of your year.

Double check the agency being your employer thing. I thought for the WHV they classed the business as the employer regardless of being paid via an agency.

Keep in mind the demand for private English tutors may not be great. Could be an oversupply as there are many listed online. Lots of choice for people and competition etc, plus building up a client base. Just things to think about.